From Student to Staff Member: Meet Miguel

Miguel Blog Post

Miguel first joined CLC as a daytime student in 2015 where he spent six weeks focusing on improving his English. He fell in love with the school’s dynamic approach to language learning and a year later decided to return for another six week English program. Two years since he first stepped foot at CLC, he is now back– but this time, as part of the CLC team! We are very excited to have him on board as our business development liaison for Mexico and Latin America.


1) Where are you from and what do you like most about living in Montreal?

I am from Puebla, Mexico and have been living in Montréal for five years now. Montreal is a very calm and safe city, and I like that for my children. I also appreciate the cultural diversity as well as the greenery and multiple parks.

1) ¿De dónde eres y qué es lo que más te gusta de vivir en Montreal?

Soy de Puebla, Mexico y tengo 5 años viviendo en Montréal. Montreal es una ciudad tranquila y segura, y eso me ha gustado mucho para mis hijos. La diversidad cultural de esta ciudad me agrada mucho y algo que siempre he apreciado de aquí es la vegetación y sus múltiples parques.


2) What inspires you to reach your goals?

My family. With every action I take, I think of them.

2) ¿Qué te inspira para alcanzar tus metas?

Mi familia. En cada acción que hago para alcanzar mis metas pienso en ellos.


3) What are you most proud of?

I am most proud of having learned the official languages of Canada: French and English. I considered this to be very difficult, but it allowed me to do a master’s degree in administration. I was very fortunate to find a school like CLC that helped me improve my language skills and overcome this challenge.

3) ¿De qué estás más orgulloso?

Lo que me tiene más orgulloso es haber aprendido los idiomas oficiales de Canadá, francés e inglés, lo cual consideraba muy difícil y me permitió hacer una maestría en administración. En esta historia tuve la suerte de encontrar en el CLC la escuela que me ayudó a superar este reto.


4) What is your best travel story?

When I traveled to Canada for the first time in July 2010, it was summer. I had imagined that there would be snow everywhere so I was surprised that it was so hot! That trip was very special to me because I got to meet my wife’s family and get to know her hometown. I never imagined that I would stay here.

4) ¿Cuál es tu mejor historia de viaje?

Cuando viajé por primera vez a Canadá,  vine en julio del 2010, era verano y me sorprendió que hacía mucho calor, en ese momento solo imaginaba nieve por todas partes. Ese viaje era especial porque conocí la ciudad de mi esposa y su familia, aún no imaginaba que me quedaría a vivir acá.


5) What is the one thing that most people don’t know about you?

Few people know that in addition to my daily activities such as my work, studying and taking care of the family, I also dedicate part of my time to the production of sugarcane in Mexico. I am originally from a sugarcane region, and I have maintained that family tradition.

5) ¿Qué es algo que la mayoría de la gente no sabe de ti?

Poca gente sabe que además de mis actividades cotidianas en Montreal como mi trabajo, estudiar y mi familia, dedico parte de mi tiempo a la producción de caña de azúcar en México. Soy originario de una región cañera y mantengo esa tradición familiar.


 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s