Saying Goodbye to our Mexican Students!

 

CLCblogportraits

Photo by Jimmy Santos

 

Tell me about yourself.

My name is Bertha and I have been a computer programming teacher at the University of Mexico for four years. I love my job because I can joke with my students while teaching them.

Why did you choose to study at CLC Montreal?

I love languages and there was an advertisement for CLC Montreal at my university. I decided to come here because I wanted to learn English in a country where it is spoken.

Why did you choose Canada and what’s been your favourite part?

I chose Canada because I like how the people are and the way they pronounce things. My favourite part was Niagara Falls. I really liked the feeling of the mist and also watching the water while I was on the boat.

How did you find the teachers and classes?

I like the way they teach because they make jokes, and they let us speak. They correct our mistakes. If I ask something, they answer me. If I have doubts, they help me.

What’s been your favourite part of the program?

My favourite part of our English classes is when we do tongue twisters because it makes me move my tongue in a way that I’m not used to, and it helps to improve my pronunciation.

 

CLCblogportraits-3

Photo by Jimmy Santos

 

Tell me about yourself.

My name is Diana and I study International Economics and Relations at the University of Mexico. I also study photography in school.

Why did you choose to study at CLC Montreal?

I chose CLC Montreal because I wanted to learn English since it’s important for my career. My school offered me the opportunity to come here.

Why did you choose Canada and what’s been your favourite part?

I wanted to come to Montreal because the people are friendly, and the architecture is beautiful. In Montreal, you can find classical and contemporary architecture, and it’s a nice mixture. Within Canada, I really liked Old Port but I also liked Ottawa.

How did you find the teachers and classes?

They were very friendly and patient. I have learn so many new words and my oral comprehension has gotten better. I liked the classes here better than at my university because they are more practical, as the classes in Mexico are more focused on grammar.

What’s been your favourite part of the program?

My favourite part of the program is the class in the early morning where we talk about different topics. For example, we talked about some places that we visited during the weekend or the activities that we did during the week. I especially like when my teacher posts a topic and lets us choose which questions we want to answer.

 

CLCblogportraits-2

Photo by Jimmy Santos

 

Tell me about yourself.

My name is Jose Antonio Dominguez Beltran and I am an administrator for the department of language learning at the University of Mexico. I am also an English teacher for students and teachers online.

Why did you choose to study at CLC Montreal?

There was a program offered by my university and I received a scholarship to learn English here.

Why did you choose Canada and what’s been your favourite part?

It has always been in my plans to visit Canada. I like the landscapes that are here. The image I had in my head of Canada was a lot of forests, and that’s what I have seen. It’s a very natural country.

How did you find the teachers and classes?

It was a good environment, especially with the teachers. They are friendly, and they really try to understand the culture that you’re from. Additionally, they have many materials ready for the class.

What’s been your favourite part of the program?

I liked the constant contact with English. You need to be able to speak English everywhere here whether it’s outside, at school, at home, or even in class. In Mexico, I teach English but we still speak Spanish but here you don’t have that choice.

 

Leave a Reply

