Introducing: Berenice from Mexico!

Berenice.jpg

1) Tell us about yourself.

My name is Berenice, I’m Mexican and I’m a communicologist. The studies I had allow me to work in very varied fields, so that I never get bored. Nowadays, I’m a Spanish teacher, and I also do subtitles for movies and series!

Mi nombre es Berenice, soy mexicana y comunicóloga. Mis estudios me permiten ejercer en ámbitos muy variados y nunca aburrirme. Actualmente, soy profesora de español, ¡y también hago subtítulos para películas y series!

2) What languages do you speak or would like to speak?

I speak Spanish, English and French. I’d love to learn Portuguese or Italian, but first I need to improve my French.

Hablo español, inglés y francés. Me encantaría aprender portugués o italiano, pero primero necesito mejorar mi francés.

3) What is your favourite quote?

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious, and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” -Walt Disney. I even have a tattoo with the phrase “Keep moving forward.”

“En este lugar, no miramos hacia atrás por mucho tiempo. Seguimos moviéndonos hacia adelante, abriendo nuevas puertas y haciendo nuevas cosas, porque somos curiosos, y la curiosidad nos sigue llevando por nuevos caminos”. -Walt Disney. ¡Incluso tengo un tatuaje con la frase “Keep moving forward”!

4) What is your favourite thing about Montreal?

 My favorite thing about Montreal is the amount of different cultures that we can get to know. It’s like traveling all around the world in just one city. If we look close enough, we can learn from different perspectives how to be a better human being, just taking the best of each culture and learning to respect everything that is different.

Lo que más me gusta de Montreal es la cantidad de diferentes culturas que tenemos la oportunidad de conocer. Es como viajar por todo el mundo en una sola ciudad. Si ponemos suficiente atención, podemos aprender, desde diferentes perspectivas, cómo ser un mejor ser humano, solo tomando lo mejor de cada cultura, y aprendiendo a respetar lo diferente.

5) What inspires you to reach your goals?

What inspires me to reach my goals is thinking how they can improve someone else’s life. I love to do things that improve, even a little bit, the way people think and feel. I love learning things that I can later share with others. My dream is to have my own school, where I can help a lot of kids to learn things that will eventually allow them to be happy.

Lo que me inspira a alcanzar mis metas es pensar en cómo estas pueden mejorar la vida de alguien más. Me encanta hacer cosas que mejoren, aunque sea un poco, la manera en que las personas piensan y sienten. Me encanta aprender cosas que después pueda compartir con los demás. Mi sueño es, un día, tener mi propia escuela, donde pueda ayudar a muchos chicos a aprender cosas que, eventualmente, les permitirán ser felices.

 

-Berenice

Leave a Reply

