CLC Teacher of the Month: Vanessa

vanessas-introduction

Vanessa playing the taiko, a Japanese drum

Hello everyone!

My name is Vanessa. I am looking forward to meeting you and helping you make your experience CLC an enjoyable one. I started working here in August 2016 and I’m excited about doing one of the things I enjoy the most which is teaching.

Before working at CLC, I taught in Japan and I lived there for a total of 7 years. I had a great time there and I will be forever grateful for that amazing opportunity I was given. During my stay in Japan, I got to do some incredible things. I had my first (and only) TV appearance on a Japanese show to talk about the big earthquake that happened in Haiti, and its effect it had on my family and the Haitian community. A few weeks after the show aired, I was a back up singer in a choir for the Japanese band Garnet Crow. Last but the not least, the best memory I have of Japan is when I was finally chosen to be volunteer teacher for an organization called Peace Boat. It took 4 years for that dream to come true and it was well worth the wait.

I am looking forward to hearing your stories. Talk to you soon!

Vanessa

Leave a Reply

