CLC Talks Halloween

Halloween-Hero-1-A.jpeg

Jack-o’-lanterns ***Photo credit: PlusQuotes

If you have walked around Montreal lately, you may have noticed pumpkins just about everywhere. Well, it’s that time of the year and Halloween is right around the corner. Halloween is celebrated on October 31st so this year it falls on a Monday. This dark and spooky celebration honours the dead and there is some debate about the origins. Many believe that Halloween originated in Ireland; today, it is celebrated in many countries.

CLC students of English were curious to learn more about Halloween in Canada. They interviewed several Monkland Village shop employees to find out more. Here is a summary of what the interviewees had to say.

What do you usually do for Halloween?

“I used to dress up for Halloween when I was a little girl. I was really lucky because my mother always made my costumes. For example, one year I was a witch; another year, I dressed up as a pumpkin. It was so cool.” 

-Audree (DavidsTea)

Is Halloween only for children?

“No, not really. Yes, the main activity is trick-or-treating which is for children up to the age of 13, I think. Teenagers usually go to house parties, and their costumes are usually scarier like vampires or zombies.”

-Sheila (Ten Thousand Villages)

What is your most memorable Halloween costume?

“One year, my son dressed up as a Star Wars character. I can’t remember which one exactly, but I made the costume from scratch. I was very proud of that costume and he loved it.”

-Sheila (Ten Thousand Villages)

“When I was a teenager, I dressed up as Superman. It was such an awesome costume. I felt so powerful with the cape. “

-Aldo (Second Cup)

“My mother really wanted me to be a doctor when I was younger so she would dress me up as a doctor. But, as an adult, I am not a doctor so that technique did not work. It was a fun costume, though.”

-Vanessa (CLC Montreal)

What do you eat at Halloween?

“Nothing in particular. There isn’t a special meal, but my family does like making pumpkin soup and pumpkin pies. Anything pumpkin, basically. Oh, and for dessert, lots and lots of candy and chocolate. You can’t have Halloween without candy!”

-Sheila (Ten Thousand Villages)

_________________________________________________________________

Tomorrow, CLC will be hosting a pumpkin-carving activity. Students and staff will have a chance to show off their pumpkin-carving skills and on Monday, October 31st, students and staff are encouraged to dress up for Halloween.

Hope to see some scary monsters and witches.

Happy Halloween from CLC Montreal!

-Melissa

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

