Happy Turkey Day, Canada!

images

*A traditional Thanksgiving meal* Photo credit: Shutterstock

Canadian Thanksgiving is an annual holiday held on the second Monday in October every year since 1879. This year, it falls on Monday, October 10. Thanksgiving celebrates the Harvest and gratitude in general. Although the holiday began hundreds of years ago in North America, it still holds the same meaning today: giving thanks for all the wonderful things in our life. Most Canadians celebrate Thanksgiving by having a traditional turkey dinner with all the trimmings. And, of course, don’t forget pumpkin pie for dessert!

CLC International students of English were curious to learn more about Canadian Thanksgiving so they interviewed a few people in the NDG community.

Here were the questions:

1) What are your Thanksgiving traditions?

2) What are your Thanksgiving plans this year?

3) What are you thankful for?

Here’s what the local NDG employees had to say:

Alyssa (Tea consultant at DavidsTea)

“We don’t really have any specific traditions in our family. Just spending time together, I guess. I’m going to have a vegetarian dinner with my family. We are going to cook traditional Greek-style foods such as Moussaka and Spanakopita. I am thankful for having time with friends and family throughout the year.”

Aldo (corporate manager at Second Cup)

“I don’t really have any specific tradition, but I do celebrate Thanksgiving since moving to Canada from Argentina. I will visit Quebec City to see some family and friends on Thanksgiving Day. We might cook the traditional turkey with cranberry sauce.”

Sheila (Volunteer at Dix Mille Villages/Ten Thousand Villages)

“I am going to celebrate both Thanksgiving and my son’s birthday at the same time. I will be cooking turkey Canadian-style. A tradition I have is to go for a walk either at Angrignon Park or Westmount Park. There are many beautiful things to see. I love taking pictures and collecting fallen leaves. I bring them home and place them in my home as decoration. I am thankful for the changing colors of nature. Nature gives me a lot of pleasure.”

What are your plans this long weekend? How will you be spending Canadian Thanksgiving? Let us know in the comments below.

-Melissa

18470lrg
*Pumpkin Pie*                          
Photo credit: LIBBY’s Famous Pumpkin Pie

 

Leave a Reply

