5 Questions with Melissa, Community Coordinator

teaching

Melissa ESL instructor and community coordinator

Can you introduce yourself?

My name is Melissa Maselli and I am an ESL instructor and the new Community Coordinator at CLC. I was born and raised in Montreal and studied at McGill University for my Bachelor and Master degrees. I love languages and learning about different cultures. Oh, and my favourite food is spanakopita (Greek spinach pie)!

What do you think about CLC?

Quite honestly, CLC is one of the best educational environments I have ever worked in. The staff and teachers are friendly, resourceful, and collaborative. The school evokes a sense of peace and mutual understanding. The students are engaged, motivated, and very friendly. It is not uncommon to see students sharing their lunch with one another in order to try different foods or hanging out in the kitchen or computer lab after school hours. True friendships are made at CLC.

What do you think of Montreal?

Sometimes, I take Montreal for granted as I have lived here my whole life. However, I can say that I am very proud to be a Montrealer. The city bustles with activity almost year-round. Hundreds of languages are spoken in different parts of the city; thus, it is not rare to meet a polyglot. And, let’s be perfectly honest, Montreal has some of the best food in North America.

What is your favourite quote, saying or proverb?

The late Maya Angelou said “Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.” This quote resonates with me because it reminds me to always treat others with kindness and respect, no matter what. It is not always easy to be a glass-half-full kind of person, but it certainly is worth a shot. So, as a challenge, I invite you to try to make someone’s day better, whether with a gesture or a few kind words.

What does the word “thrive” mean to you?

To thrive is simply to prosper or flourish. I believe that we all can thrive in our own lives regardless of our circumstances. Attitude plays a large role in our perception of what it means to thrive. We can be the best version of ourselves if we allow ourselves to make mistakes and grow. Thriving, then, can be deeply personal and also collaborative (in our workspaces, and so on).

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

