5 questions with Yukinori

yukinori

Gold medal for Yukinori.

Last Saturday, 3 of our students won medals at the SAU Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu tournament in Ottawa. We decided to have a little chat with Yukinori Akazawa who got 1st place in the blue belt absolute category.

Tell us about yourself and what you do.

Hi, I am Yukinori Akazawa, I am 22 years old. I do BJJ (Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu) and MMA (Mixed Martial Arts). I started BJJ 1 year and a half ago and before that I did judo for 6 years.

What inspires you to reach your goals?

My goal is to be UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship) champion. No Japanese have ever taken the champion belt. I want to be the first Japanese to do it.

Who do you admire most?

I look up to Georges St-Pierre (GSP). We both train MMA at Tristar gym. Once he called me to spare with him. He did 5 takedowns on me in 5 minutes. He is very strong. I admire him because he is strict, kind and strong. He was champion 10 times. I think every fighter respect him. He is a Quebecois hero.

Favourite things about Montreal:

I like poutine. When I came here I hated it. I thought food was bad and that it was not good for me. Now I have been living here for 1 year and a half. I like Canadian food more and more.

Favourite quote or saying?

 小さなものでも多く集まれば大きくなる (many a little makes a mickle). When I was in judo school, I was very weak. I thought I wanted to quit judo. My teacher said: never give up, continue, continue. You are very weak, you continue then you will be stronger than now, little by little. If you don’t move, zero. You move of 1 step, you will be strong. Keep going, you have to continue.

-interview by Ben

We would like to also congratulate our student Akihiko Baba who won silver medal in white belt featherweight category and Atsushi Fujino who won gold medal in purple/brown light featherweight category.

yukinori_medals

Yukinori at CLC with his medals.

Leave a Reply

